

The Canadian Government awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal to 17 more Filipino-Canadians for their vast contributions to improve their community. Senator Tobias Enverga, Jr. (4th from the left), the first Filipino-Canadian appointed to the Senate of Canada, was guest speaker at the formal awarding ceremonies. The recipients were (front row, L-R): Ben Ferrer; Emiliano Silverio; Flordeliz Dandal; Victoria Santiago; Gene Dorotheo, Sr.; Alex Parucha; (2nd row L-R): Artemio Pangilinan; Very Rev. Francis Galvan, OSA; Andy Garcia; Romi Manaquil; Eduardo Lee; Resty del Rosario; Dr. Francisco Portugal; Bonner Villabroza; and George Poblete. Other awardees who were not able to attend the ceremonies were Eleanor Calbes and Linda Javier, with the latter represented by Ed Birondo, Director of the Filipino Community Center in Toronto.